People

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm

Risto advises both domestic and international clients on a wide range of matters related to employment law and human resources, such as director and employment contracts, terminations of employment, collective bargaining agreements, working time arrangements, employee representation, work permits, HR policies, employment discrimination, and employee privacy. He also advises clients on employment law aspects of major mergers and acquisitions, including legal due diligence, employee transfers, employee participation issues, information and consultation procedures, and post-closing measures.

Owing to his previous career and degree in human resources, Risto's expertise goes beyond legal: He is able to put himself in the client's shoes and provide them with practical and business-minded solutions as well as recommendations on best HR practices.


References

Parties:
Vitec Software Group AB (publ), Oy Raisoft Ltd

Transaction
Vitec’s acquisition of all shares in Oy Raisoft Ltd

Deal Value
Value not public

Role
Counsel to Vitec Software Group AB (publ)

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Annika Schauman

Annika Schauman

Managing Associate | Helsinki
annika.schauman@hannessnellman.com
Juha Ellonen

Juha Ellonen

Associate | Helsinki
juha.ellonen@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate | Helsinki
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com

We advised the client in setting up operations in the Finnish Lapland and preparing feasible employment models and work permits for a staff consisting of up to 200 noncitizens.

Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com

Advised Pankaboard in its negotiations with the Paper Workers’ Union and Trade Union Pro to conclude company-specific collective bargaining agreements for its paper workers and salaried employees, respectively.

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Ingrid Remmelgas

Ingrid Remmelgas

Senior Associate | Helsinki
ingrid.remmelgas@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

IK Partners (Buyer), Intera Fund II Ky, Intera Fund III Ky, management and other minority shareholders (Sellers), Renta Group Oy (Target)

Transaction 

Intera Partners’ sale of Renta Group Oy to IK Partners

Deal Value 

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Intera Partners

Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Olli-Pekka Veranen

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
olli-pekka.veranen@hannessnellman.com
Roosa Väre

Roosa Väre

Senior Associate | Helsinki
roosa.vare@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Byman

Mikael Byman

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.byman@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Partner | Helsinki
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Sami Niemi

Sami Niemi

Associate | Helsinki
sami.niemi@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate | Helsinki
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Susanna Kyllöinen

Susanna Kyllöinen

Associate | Helsinki
susanna.kylloinen@hannessnellman.com
Claes Kjellberg

Claes Kjellberg

Partner | Stockholm
claes.kjellberg@hannessnellman.com
Douglas Essehorn

Douglas Essehorn

Senior Associate | Stockholm
douglas.essehorn@hannessnellman.com
Alexander Lindqvist

Alexander Lindqvist

Associate | Stockholm
alexander.lindqvist@hannessnellman.com
Josephine Lindgren

Josephine Lindgren

Senior Associate | Stockholm
josephine.lindgren@hannessnellman.com
Olof Östman

Olof Östman

Associate | Stockholm
olof.ostman@hannessnellman.com
Amanda Alexandersson

Amanda Alexandersson

Associate | Stockholm
amanda.alexandersson@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

Angel Pond Holdings Corporation, MariaDB Corporation Ab

Transaction 

Combination of Angel Pond Holdings Corporation and MariaDB Corporation Ab by way of a domestication merger and cross-border merger, and related transactions

Deal Value 

USD 672 million (implied enterprise value of the combined company)

Role

Finnish counsel to Angel Pond Holdings Corporation

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate | Helsinki
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Susanna Purovirta

Susanna Purovirta

Senior Associate | Helsinki
susanna.purovirta@hannessnellman.com
Oliver Vesterlund

Oliver Vesterlund

Associate | Helsinki
oliver.vesterlund@hannessnellman.com
Joonas Vartia

Joonas Vartia

Associate | Helsinki
joonas.vartia@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Joakim Frände

Joakim Frände

Counsel | Helsinki
joakim.frande@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Liisa Vaaraniemi

Liisa Vaaraniemi

Associate | Helsinki
liisa.vaaraniemi@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Tuomas Toivonen

Tuomas Toivonen

Counsel | Helsinki
tuomas.toivonen@hannessnellman.com
Hanna Lindberg

Hanna Lindberg

Associate | Helsinki
hanna.lindberg@hannessnellman.com

Parties
Lassila & Tikanoja plc (JV shareholder), Neova Oy (JV shareholder), L&T Biowatti Oy (joint venture company)

Transaction
Counsel to Lassila & Tikanoja plc, a service company that is putting the circular economy into practice, in creating a joint venture with Neova Oy consolidating the parties’ energy wood businesses in Finland and Estonia. The joint venture’s turnover is approximately EUR 100 million and it employs approximately 100 employees.

Deal Value
Not disclosed

Role
Legal counsel to L&T plc

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Kaisa Himmanen

Kaisa Himmanen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
kaisa.himmanen@hannessnellman.com
Susanna Purovirta

Susanna Purovirta

Senior Associate | Helsinki
susanna.purovirta@hannessnellman.com
Oliver Vesterlund

Oliver Vesterlund

Associate | Helsinki
oliver.vesterlund@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Partner | Helsinki
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Milla Männistö

Milla Männistö

Associate | Helsinki
milla.mannisto@hannessnellman.com
Ella Rinne

Ella Rinne

Associate | Helsinki
ella.rinne@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

Enersense International Oyj, Megatuuli Oy

Transaction 

Enersense International Oyj, a provider of zero-emission energy solutions, has signed an agreement on acquiring shares of the onshore wind farm developer Megatuuli Oy.

Deal Value 

EUR 18.5 million

Role

Counsel to Enersense International

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner | Helsinki
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com
Samuli Pirinen

Samuli Pirinen

Counsel | Helsinki
samuli.pirinen@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Associate | Helsinki
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Anna Mäkinen

Anna Mäkinen

Associate | Helsinki
anna.makinen@hannessnellman.com
Milla Männistö

Milla Männistö

Associate | Helsinki
milla.mannisto@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Nuutila

Emmi Nuutila

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.nuutila@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate | Helsinki
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Vivi Jaatinen

Vivi Jaatinen

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
vivi.jaatinen@hannessnellman.com
Salla Mäki

Salla Mäki

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
salla.maki@hannessnellman.com
Anni Pöllänen

Anni Pöllänen

Compliance Assistant | Helsinki
anni.pollanen@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Intera Partners (buyer), Aihio Arkkitehdit, Arkkitehdit Soini & Horto and Cederqvist & Jäntti Arkkitehdit and their respective owners (sellers)

Transaction:

Counsel to Intera Partners and in the creation of Arco Architecture through acquisitions of Aihio Arkkitehdit, Arkkitehdit Soini & Horto sekä Cederqvist & Jäntti Arkkitehdit

Deal Value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Intera Partners

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
olli-pekka.veranen@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Byman

Mikael Byman

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.byman@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Altia Plc, Arcus ASA

Transaction

Merger of Altia Plc and Arcus ASA to form Anora Group

Deal value

Preliminary aggregated annual revenue EUR 640 million

Role

Lead counsel to Altia Plc

Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner | Helsinki
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Associate | Helsinki
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Kaisa Himmanen

Kaisa Himmanen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
kaisa.himmanen@hannessnellman.com
Ebba Almén

Ebba Almén

Associate | Stockholm
ebba.almen@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Lauri Putkonen

Lauri Putkonen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
lauri.putkonen@hannessnellman.com
Essi Ellman

Essi Ellman

Associate | Helsinki
essi.ellman@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Senior Associate | Helsinki
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Peter Forsberg

Peter Forsberg

Partner | Stockholm
peter.forsberg@hannessnellman.com
Sarah Ek

Sarah Ek

Associate | Stockholm
sarah.ek@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Associate | Helsinki
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Tuomas Toivonen

Tuomas Toivonen

Counsel | Helsinki
tuomas.toivonen@hannessnellman.com
Sami Niemi

Sami Niemi

Associate | Helsinki
sami.niemi@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Jenny Lundberg

Jenny Lundberg

Specialist Partner | Stockholm
jenny.lundberg@hannessnellman.com
Josephine Lindgren

Josephine Lindgren

Senior Associate | Stockholm
josephine.lindgren@hannessnellman.com
Panu Siitonen

Panu Siitonen

Partner | Helsinki
panu.siitonen@hannessnellman.com
Sarita Schröder

Sarita Schröder

Managing Associate | Helsinki
sarita.schroder@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Assemblin, Tom Allen Senera

Transaction

Counsel to Assemblin in its acquisition of Tom Allen Senera, a Finland-based systems supplier of energy solutions to properties.

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Assemblin

Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Olli-Pekka Veranen

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
olli-pekka.veranen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Sami Niemi

Sami Niemi

Associate | Helsinki
sami.niemi@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

Landis+Gyr (Buyer), Telia Finland (Seller), Telia AMR Business (Target)

Transaction 

Telia Finland’s sale of Telia AMR Business to Landis+Gyr

Deal Value 

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Telia Finland (Seller)

Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Senior Associate | Helsinki
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Liisa Vaaraniemi

Liisa Vaaraniemi

Associate | Helsinki
liisa.vaaraniemi@hannessnellman.com
Anna Mäkinen

Anna Mäkinen

Associate | Helsinki
anna.makinen@hannessnellman.com
Lauri Putkonen

Lauri Putkonen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
lauri.putkonen@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com

We advised the client in arranging employee participation on the board of directors of the combined company (Anora Group Plc) in connection with a cross-border merger between Altia Plc and Arcus ASA, as required by the EU directive 2017/1132.

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Labour Law Association
  • Member of the Finnish Association for Human Resource Management (HENRY)
  • Member of the Association of Finnish Lawyers

Education and Professional Background

  • Associate Lawyer, Hannes Snellman, 2020-
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2020
  • Employee Relations Specialist, Restel Oy, 2020
  • Bachelor of Business Administration, Haaga-Helia University of Applied Sciences, 2017
  • HR Specialist, Finnkino Oy, 2014-2017
  • HR Assistant, R-kioski Oy 2012-2014