People

Joakim Frände

Counsel | Helsinki
Languages:
Finnish, English, Swedish, German
Assistant:

Joakim specialises in domestic and international taxation of individuals. Joakim has advised customers especially on matters relating to relocation and cross-border taxation of individuals, as well as employer obligations and social security contributions in assignment setups. He has gained experience in the implementation of key person remuneration such as bonus programmes, share awards, options, and RSUs. Furthermore, Joakim is familiar with tax litigations and advises customers on tax pre-rulings, correction claims, complaints to boards of corrections and administrative courts, tax inspections, etc.

Joakim has worked at the University of Helsinki as a doctoral student and lecturer in fiscal law, with special focus on international taxation of individuals. He graduated as a Master of Laws in 2005 from the University of Helsinki and as a Doctor of Laws in 2013 with a published doctoral dissertation concerning situations of dual residence in the taxation of individuals. As a lecturer, Joakim taught several courses mainly in tax law. Joakim has also co-published two tax law books intended for teaching purposes.


References

Parties
Vungle, Inc. (Buyer), GameRefinery Oy (Target)

Transaction
Vungle, Inc.’s acquisition of GameRefinery Oy

Deal Value
Value not public

Role
Counsel to Vungle, Inc.

Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate | Helsinki
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Associate | Helsinki
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Linnea Lehtonen

Linnea Lehtonen

Associate | Helsinki
linnea.lehtonen@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Kärki

Heidi Kärki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
heidi.karki@hannessnellman.com
Beata-Maria Pippingsköld

Beata-Maria Pippingsköld

Senior Associate | Helsinki
bea.pippingskold@hannessnellman.com
Amanda Blick

Amanda Blick

Associate | Helsinki
amanda.blick@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Matleena Pälve

Matleena Pälve

Senior Associate | Helsinki
matleena.palve@hannessnellman.com
Joakim Frände

Joakim Frände

Counsel | Helsinki
joakim.frande@hannessnellman.com
Hanna Lindberg

Hanna Lindberg

Associate | Helsinki
hanna.lindberg@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Amazon (Buyer), Umbra (Target)

Transaction

The acquisition of Umbra by Amazon. 

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Umbra

Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Olli-Pekka Veranen

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
olli-pekka.veranen@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Matleena Pälve

Matleena Pälve

Senior Associate | Helsinki
matleena.palve@hannessnellman.com
Joakim Frände

Joakim Frände

Counsel | Helsinki
joakim.frande@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of Juridiska Föreningen i Finland

Publications

  • Tuloverotus. 8. uudistettu painos. Talentum Pro. Helsinki 2016. Authors: Andersson, Edward – Linnakangas, Esko – Frände, Joakim.
  • Inledning till skatterätten. Åttonde upplagan. Forum Iuris. Helsingfors 2014. Authors: Andersson, Edward – Frände, Joakim.
  • Doctoral thesis, Monograph: Dubbelboende vid beskattningen av fysiska personer. Monografi. Suomalainen Lakimiesyhdistys. Helsinki 2013.
  • Several articles in different journals.
  • Participation in updating the annually published book Elinkeinoverotus by KPMG.

Education and Professional Background

  • Counsel, Hannes Snellman, 2020–
  • Tax & Legal Manager at KPMG, 2017–2020
  • Research and Lecturer, 2013–2017
  • Doctor of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2013
  • Doctoral Student, University of Helsinki, 2005–2013
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2005