People

Mikko Tavast

Senior Associate | Helsinki

Mikko works mainly in the field of insolvency. He also has experience in matters relating to contract law, company law, M&A, and dispute resolution.

Before joining Hannes Snellman, Mikko worked for more than seven years at another leading law firm, where he participated in a number of major bankruptcy and restructuring cases, some of which rank among the largest in Finland.

Mikko is a member of the Finnish Bar Association.


References

Parties

The German State (Buyer), Fortum Oyj (Seller), Uniper SE (Target)

Transaction 

Fortum Oyj’s arrangements related to stabilisation of its German subsidiary Uniper SE. The package will ensure multi-billion funding for Uniper, sale of Fortum’s shareholding in Uniper to the German State for approximately EUR 0.5 billion as well as repayment of Fortum’s EUR 4 billion receivables from Uniper and release of EUR 4 billion parent company guarantees.

Deal value 

Approx. EUR 4.5 billion

Role 

Finnish counsel to Fortum Oyj

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Partner | Helsinki
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Sonja Siggberg

Sonja Siggberg

Partner | Helsinki
sonja.siggberg@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Jan Lilius

Jan Lilius

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jan.lilius@hannessnellman.com
Mikko  Tavast

Mikko Tavast

Senior Associate | Helsinki
mikko.tavast@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Managing Associate | Helsinki
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Associate | Helsinki
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Sofi Lehtinen

Sofi Lehtinen

Associate | Helsinki
sofi.lehtinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

The State of Finland, Finnair Plc

Transaction 

Counsel to the State of Finland in the hybrid loan arrangement with Finnair Plc

Deal Value 

Up to EUR 400 million

Role 

Counsel to the State of Finland (Prime Minister’s Office)

 

 

Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner | Helsinki
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Mikko  Tavast

Mikko Tavast

Senior Associate | Helsinki
mikko.tavast@hannessnellman.com
Meri Dahlqvist

Meri Dahlqvist

Associate | Helsinki
meri.dahlqvist@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association

Education and Professional Background

  • Senior Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2020
  • Senior Associate, Krogerus Attorneys Ltd, 2017-2020
  • Associate, Krogerus Attorneys Ltd, 2013-2017
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2013
  • Legal Trainee, Krogerus Attorneys Ltd, 2013
  • Legal Trainee, Asianajotoimisto Tuomaala & Co Oy, 2012
  • Lecturer (English and German), Satakunta University of Applied Sciences, 2009-2011
  • Bachelor of Business Administration, Satakunta University of Applied Sciences, 2010
  • Master of Arts, English Translation, University of Tampere, 2008