People

Meri Vanhanen

Associate | Helsinki

Meri advises domestic and international clients in the field of competition law. Meri joined Hannes Snellman as a trainee in January 2019 and was appointed as an associate upon her graduation in May 2019. Prior to this, Meri had gained experience at another major Finnish business law firm and in the public sector.

During her studies, Meri spent a semester studying law at Fudan University in Shanghai.


References

Comprehensive advice on the state aid law for the Prime Minister’s Office concerning the recapitalisation (rights offering) of the state-controlled airline Finnair Plc, including advise on the notification procedure before the European Commission. The rights offering of 500 MEUR is one of the largest rights offerings in Finland in recent years. The Commission’s decision in the case lead to amendments to the COVID-19 related State Aid Temporary Framework.

Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Maria Wasastjerna

Maria Wasastjerna

Partner | Helsinki
maria.wasastjerna@hannessnellman.com
Meri Vanhanen

Meri Vanhanen

Associate | Helsinki
meri.vanhanen@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Pokela

Johanna Pokela

Associate | Helsinki
johanna.pokela@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Associate | Helsinki
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Antti Kuha

Antti Kuha

Managing Associate | Helsinki
antti.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Tommi Kovero

Tommi Kovero

Associate | Helsinki
tommi.kovero@hannessnellman.com
Satu Kokko

Satu Kokko

Associate | Helsinki
satu.kokko@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Association for European Law
  • Member of the Finnish Competition Law Association


Education and Professional Background

  • Associate Lawyer, Hannes Snellman, 2019
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2019
  • Associate Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2019
  • Legal Trainee, Finnish Competition and Consumer Authority, 2018
  • Associate Trainee, Roschier Attorneys Ltd., 2018
  • Trainee, Ministry of Economic Affairs and Employment, 2017
  • Trainee, Embassy of Finland, Belgrade, 2017
  • Fudan University, Shanghai, 2015