People

Kati Punakallio

Counsel | Helsinki

Kati advises clients on energy and power projects, energy M&A, private equity transactions, and energy regulation. She has also worked on various projects relating to project financing and debt capital markets. Kati is qualified in Finnish law and as an attorney in the State of New York.

Kati has experience in working and negotiating with global teams in Europe, the Americas, and Asia. She has represented clients such as international private equity firms, energy companies, heavy industry manufacturers, commercial banks, and institutional investors.

Furthermore, she has co-authored various annual editions of local law chapters in a global renewable energy publication which provides an overview of legislation and incentives for renewable energy companies worldwide.  


References

Parties

Commonwealth Bank (Seller), Colonial First State Global Asset Management (Target), Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corporation (Buyer)

Transaction

Commonwealth Bank's sale of its global asset management business, Colonial First State Global Asset Management (CFSGAM), to Mitsubishi UFJ Trust and Banking Corporation

Deal Value

AUD 4.1 billion

Role

Counsel to Commonwealth Bank

Johan Aalto

Johan Aalto

Partner | Helsinki
johan.aalto@hannessnellman.com
Kati Punakallio

Kati Punakallio

Counsel | Helsinki
kati.punakallio@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Boow

Sanna Boow

Counsel | Helsinki
sanna.boow@hannessnellman.com
Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Toni Malminen

Toni Malminen

Counsel | Helsinki
toni.malminen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

CapMan Infra (Bidder), Elenia Group (Target)

Transaction

CapMan Infra signed to invest in Elenia, a leading Finnish electricity network and district heat company

Deal Value

EUR 70 million

Role

Counsel to CapMan Infra

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Jari Tukiainen

Jari Tukiainen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
jari.tukiainen@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Counsel | Helsinki
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Olli-Pekka Veranen

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
olli-pekka.veranen@hannessnellman.com
Kati Punakallio

Kati Punakallio

Counsel | Helsinki
kati.punakallio@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Karoliina Kyläkoski

Karoliina Kyläkoski

Associate | Helsinki
karoliina.kylakoski@hannessnellman.com

Parties

CVC Capital Partners, LocalTapiola, Varma, Ilmarinen, Mehiläinen management (Buyers), Mehiläinen Oy (Target), Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co. L.P., Triton Partners (Sellers)

Transaction

LocalTapiola's co-investment with CVC Capital Partners, Varma and Ilmarinen to Mehiläinen Oy, a leading Finnish private health- and social care provider

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to LocalTapiola

Outi Raitasuo

Outi Raitasuo

Partner | Helsinki
outi.raitasuo@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Kati Punakallio

Kati Punakallio

Counsel | Helsinki
kati.punakallio@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Roosa Väre

Roosa Väre

Associate | Helsinki
roosa.vare@hannessnellman.com
Kaisa Himmanen

Kaisa Himmanen

Associate | Helsinki
kaisa.himmanen@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of New York State Bar, 2012
  • Member of Energy Bar Association
  • Association of Finnish Lawyers

Education and Professional Background

  • Counsel, Hannes Snellman 2018-
  • Senior Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2018
  • Assiociate, White & Case, Helsinki  2011−2017
  • Assisting Legal Counsel, Royal Dutch Shell’s Finnish Subsidiary (oy Shell ab), 2008−2010
  • LL.M., American University, Washington College of Law, International Legal Studies Program, Washington, D.C., 2011
  • Master of Laws, Helsinki University School of Law, 2010/2011
  • Minor Subject in Industrial Engineering and Management, Helsinki University of Technology (Aalto University)