People

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki

Suvi-Tuuli advises clients on mergers and acquisitions as well as private equity transactions. She also advises clients on general corporate, commercial and contract law.

Suvi-Tuuli joined the firm as a trainee in 2013, and she was appointed as associate lawyer in 2015. Prior to her graduation, she worked as a stagiaire at DG Taxation and Customs Union of the European Commission in Brussels. She also spent one semester studying international tax law at Uppsala University in Sweden.


References

Parties

Sanoma Group (Buyer), Alma Media Corporation (Seller), Alma Media Kustannus Oy and Alma Manu Oy (Targets)

Transaction

Sanoma Group’s acquisition of Alma Media’s regional news media business

Deal Value

EUR 115 million (announced enterprise value)

Role

Counsel to Sanoma Group

Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner | Helsinki
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com
Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Agda Vähä-Piikkiö

Associate | Helsinki
agda.vaha-piikkio@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Heurlin

Jenni Heurlin

Associate | Helsinki
jenni.heurlin@hannessnellman.com
Carolina Lefort Ahokanto

Carolina Lefort Ahokanto

Associate | Helsinki
carolina.lefortahokanto@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Peab AB (Buyer), YIT Corporation (Seller), YIT’s Nordic paving and mineral aggregates businesses (Targets)

Transaction

YIT’s sale of its Nordic paving and mineral aggregates businesses in Finland, Sweden, Norway and Denmark to Peab

Deal Value

EUR 280 million

Role

Counsel to YIT Corporation

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com
Kaisa Himmanen

Kaisa Himmanen

Associate | Helsinki
kaisa.himmanen@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Harri Vehviläinen

Harri Vehviläinen

Counsel | Helsinki
harri.vehvilainen@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Ninja Pyy

Ninja Pyy

Associate | Helsinki
ninja.pyy@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Klaara Lähteenoja

Klaara Lähteenoja

Associate | Helsinki
klaara.lahteenoja@hannessnellman.com
Toni Malminen

Toni Malminen

Counsel | Helsinki
toni.malminen@hannessnellman.com
Jenny Lundberg

Jenny Lundberg

Specialist Partner | Stockholm
jenny.lundberg@hannessnellman.com
Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Associate | Helsinki
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Pöyry Plc, ÅF AB

Transaction

ÅF AB and Pöyry Plc have signed an agreement to combine the two companies

Deal Value

EUR 611 million

Role

Counsel to Pöyry Plc

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Mattias Friberg

Mattias Friberg

Partner | Stockholm
mattias.friberg@hannessnellman.com
Antti Kuha

Antti Kuha

Managing Associate | Helsinki
antti.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Henrik Hautamäki

Henrik Hautamäki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
henrik.hautamaki@hannessnellman.com
Anna Sahrakorpi

Anna Sahrakorpi

Associate | Helsinki
anna.sahrakorpi@hannessnellman.com
Mari Pihalehto

Mari Pihalehto

Associate | Helsinki
mari.pihalehto@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Toni Malminen

Toni Malminen

Counsel | Helsinki
toni.malminen@hannessnellman.com
Khaled Talayhan

Khaled Talayhan

Senior Associate | Stockholm
khaled.talayhan@hannessnellman.com
Carolina Wahlby

Carolina Wahlby

Specialist Partner | Stockholm
carolina.wahlby@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com
Roosa Väre

Roosa Väre

Associate | Helsinki
roosa.vare@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Asiakastieto Group Plc (Buyer), UC AB (Target), Six Swedish banks (Sellers)

Transaction

Asiakastieto Group Plc’s pending acquisition of UC AB, a credit information company

Deal Value

Appr. EUR 340 million

Role

Counsel to Asiakastieto Group Plc

Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Richard Åkerman

Richard Åkerman

Partner | Stockholm
richard.akerman@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Elisabeth Vestin

Elisabeth Vestin

Partner | Stockholm
elisabeth.vestin@hannessnellman.com
Antti Kuha

Antti Kuha

Managing Associate | Helsinki
antti.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Toni Malminen

Toni Malminen

Counsel | Helsinki
toni.malminen@hannessnellman.com
Erkko Korhonen

Erkko Korhonen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
erkko.korhonen@hannessnellman.com
Albert Danielsson

Albert Danielsson

Senior Associate | Stockholm
albert.danielsson@hannessnellman.com
Elina Toivakainen

Elina Toivakainen

Counsel | Helsinki
elina.toivakainen@hannessnellman.com
Maisa Cederström

Maisa Cederström

Senior Associate | Helsinki
maisa.cederstrom@hannessnellman.com
Sara Heikfolk

Sara Heikfolk

Associate | Stockholm
sara.heikfolk@hannessnellman.com
Lauri Marjamäki

Lauri Marjamäki

Associate | Helsinki
lauri.marjamaki@hannessnellman.com
Nicole Jerad

Nicole Jerad

Associate | Stockholm
nicole.jerad@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com
Jonas Sjöberg

Jonas Sjöberg

Associate | Stockholm
jonas.sjoberg@hannessnellman.com
Jenny Lundberg

Jenny Lundberg

Specialist Partner | Stockholm
jenny.lundberg@hannessnellman.com
Paula Röttorp

Paula Röttorp

Partner | Stockholm
paula.rottorp@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Apax Digital Fund (Buyer), Vaaka Partners (Seller), Solita Oy (Target)

Transaction

Vaaka Partners' sale of Solita Oy to Apax Digital Fund

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Vaaka Partners

 

Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Olli-Pekka Veranen

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
olli-pekka.veranen@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com
Roosa Väre

Roosa Väre

Associate | Helsinki
roosa.vare@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Hartwall Capital Oy Ab (Buyer), SUEZ Suomi Oy (Target)

Transaction

Hartwall Capital Oy Ab's acquisition of SUEZ Suomi Oy, comprising the Finnish operations of SUEZ Group

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Hartwall Capital Oy Ab

Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Kostiainen

Jesper Kostiainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jesper.kostiainen@hannessnellman.com
Antti Alanko

Antti Alanko

Partner | Helsinki
antti.alanko@hannessnellman.com
Erkko Korhonen

Erkko Korhonen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
erkko.korhonen@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Cor Group Oy, Industry Investment, Norvestia Plc and acting management (Sellers), EQT MidMarket Limited Partnership (Buyer), Touhula Varhaiskasvatus Oy (Target)

Transaction

Cor Group Oy, Industry Investment, Norvestia Plc and acting management sold the leading Finnish private day care provider Touhula Varhaiskasvatus Oy to EQT MidMarket Limited Partnership.

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to EQT

Sten Olsson

Sten Olsson

Partner | Helsinki
sten.olsson@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Olli-Pekka Veranen

Olli-Pekka Veranen

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
olli-pekka.veranen@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Antti Alanko

Antti Alanko

Partner | Helsinki
antti.alanko@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Ilmarinen and AMF (Buyer), Kesko (Seller and Co-Investor), 40 retail properties in Finland and Sweden (Target)

Transaction

JV between Kesko, Ilmarinen and AMF concerning the sale and leaseback of a portfolio of 40 retail properties in Sweden and Finland. Kesko continues as an owner of the portfolio, with AMF, Ilmarinen and Kesko having equal shares in the portfolio going forward.

Deal Value

EUR 652 million

Role

Counsel to Ilmarinen and AMF

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Juha Lindström

Juha Lindström

Partner | Helsinki
juha.lindstrom@hannessnellman.com
Tuire Kuronen

Tuire Kuronen

Partner | Helsinki
tuire.kuronen@hannessnellman.com
Antti Alanko

Antti Alanko

Partner | Helsinki
antti.alanko@hannessnellman.com
Heini Aavaranta

Heini Aavaranta

Associate | Helsinki
heini.aavaranta@hannessnellman.com
Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Suvi-Tuuli Saarnio

Senior Associate | Helsinki
suvi-tuuli.saarnio@hannessnellman.com
Antti Antikainen

Antti Antikainen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
antti.antikainen@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association
  • Member of the Association of Finnish Lawyers
  • Member of the Finnish Sports Law Association

Education and Professional Background

  • Senior Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2019
  • Associate Lawyer, Hannes Snellman, 2015
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2015
  • Stagiaire, European Commission, Brussels, 2014
  • Associate Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2013–2015
  • Junior Advisor, EY, 2012–2013
  • Uppsala University, Sweden, 2012
  • University level studies in economics and business administration at Hanken, the Swedish School of Economics, Helsinki, 2011–2012