People

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki

Sara advises clients in relation to construction, energy and infrastructure projects, as well as in matters related to real estate transactions. Sara also has experience advising clients in the field of mergers and acquisitions, as well as general corporate, commercial and contract law.

Sara holds an LL.M. degree in Energy and Environmental law from the Chinese University of Hong Kong, and worked on a research project concerning the green energy transition at CUHK Law from 2020 to 2021.


References

Counsel to OX2 in respect of the construction contracts for full grid and balance of plant (including transmission line, balance of plant works, substation, and transformers) in respect of the 145,2 MW Niinimäki wind farm in the municipality of Pieksämäki, Finland.

Maria Landtman

Maria Landtman

Partner | Helsinki
maria.landtman@hannessnellman.com
Katja Perätalo

Katja Perätalo

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
katja.peratalo@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Nuutila

Emmi Nuutila

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.nuutila@hannessnellman.com
Carolina Lefort Ahokanto

Carolina Lefort Ahokanto

Senior Associate | Helsinki
carolina.lefortahokanto@hannessnellman.com
Samuli Pirinen

Samuli Pirinen

Counsel | Helsinki
samuli.pirinen@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Exilion Wind, BayWa r.e. Nordic

Transaction:

Exilion Wind's and BayWa r.e. Nordic's wind power joint venture. Through the joint venture, the co-investors will invest and develop the Karhakkamaa wind farm project, which is envisaged to consist of 48 wind turbines with an installed capacity of approximately 350MW.

Deal Value: 

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Exilion Wind

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com
Maria Landtman

Maria Landtman

Partner | Helsinki
maria.landtman@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Ida Viitamäki

Ida Viitamäki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
ida.viitamaki@hannessnellman.com
Alisa Ainonen

Alisa Ainonen

Associate | Helsinki
alisa.ainonen@hannessnellman.com
Sonja Sivén

Sonja Sivén

Associate | Helsinki
sonja.siven@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to Exilion in the Construction and Financing of Isokangas and Palokangas Wind Farms. The projects will be constructed in Ii in northern Ostrobothnia, Finland, and will have an aggregate capacity of 100MW. The estimated yearly production of the two wind farms will be around 320,000 MWh. Our team advised Exilion in respect of negotiating turbine supply and services, balance of plant and financing agreements.

Maria Landtman

Maria Landtman

Partner | Helsinki
maria.landtman@hannessnellman.com
Katja Perätalo

Katja Perätalo

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
katja.peratalo@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Managing Associate | Helsinki
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Valerie Wårvik

Valerie Wårvik

Associate | Helsinki
valerie.warvik@hannessnellman.com
Milla Männistö

Milla Männistö

Associate | Helsinki
milla.mannisto@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate | Helsinki
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Tiia Mäki

Tiia Mäki

Associate | Helsinki
tiia.maki@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Veolia Services Suomi Oy, Metsä Fibre

Transaction:

Veolia Services Suomi Oy’s project to build a crude methanol processing plant in connection with Metsä Fibre's Äänekoski bioproduct mill plant in Äänekoski

Deal Value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Veolia Services Suomi Oy

Katja Perätalo

Katja Perätalo

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
katja.peratalo@hannessnellman.com
Maria Landtman

Maria Landtman

Partner | Helsinki
maria.landtman@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Nuutila

Emmi Nuutila

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.nuutila@hannessnellman.com
Kristina Leibssle

Kristina Leibssle

Associate | Helsinki
kristina.leibssle@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Anna-Maria Tamminen

Anna-Maria Tamminen

Partner | Helsinki
anna-maria.tamminen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Orange Capital Partners and another global investor (Buyers), Morgan Stanley (Seller)

Transaction

Orange Capital Partners' and another global investor's acquisition of a residential portfolio with 37 assets and 1,900 apartments from Morgan Stanley

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Orange Capital Partners and another global investor

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Marjaana Martikainen

Marjaana Martikainen

Counsel | Helsinki
marjaana.martikainen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Managing Associate | Helsinki
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com
Valerie Wårvik

Valerie Wårvik

Associate | Helsinki
valerie.warvik@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Associate | Helsinki
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Noora Christiansen

Noora Christiansen

Associate | Helsinki
noora.christiansen@hannessnellman.com
Marika Sorsa

Marika Sorsa

Senior Associate | Helsinki
marika.sorsa@hannessnellman.com
Minna Juhola

Minna Juhola

Senior Associate | Helsinki
minna.juhola@hannessnellman.com
Mikael Wood

Mikael Wood

Associate | Helsinki
mikael.wood@hannessnellman.com
Sofia Ampuja

Sofia Ampuja

Senior Associate | Helsinki
sofia.ampuja@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate | Helsinki
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Jaatinen

Anniina Jaatinen

Associate | Helsinki
anniina.jaatinen@hannessnellman.com
Tiia Mäki

Tiia Mäki

Associate | Helsinki
tiia.maki@hannessnellman.com
Salla Mäki

Salla Mäki

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
salla.maki@hannessnellman.com
Janita Stenroos

Janita Stenroos

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
janita.stenroos@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

Enersense International Oyj, Megatuuli Oy

Transaction 

Enersense International Oyj, a provider of zero-emission energy solutions, has signed an agreement on acquiring shares of the onshore wind farm developer Megatuuli Oy.

Deal Value 

EUR 18.5 million

Role

Counsel to Enersense International

Tapio Teräkivi

Tapio Teräkivi

Partner | Helsinki
tapio.terakivi@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner | Helsinki
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Katja Heikkinen

Katja Heikkinen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
katja.heikkinen@hannessnellman.com
Samuli Pirinen

Samuli Pirinen

Counsel | Helsinki
samuli.pirinen@hannessnellman.com
Robert Gordin

Robert Gordin

Associate | Helsinki
robert.gordin@hannessnellman.com
Anna Mäkinen

Anna Mäkinen

Associate | Helsinki
anna.makinen@hannessnellman.com
Milla Männistö

Milla Männistö

Associate | Helsinki
milla.mannisto@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Nuutila

Emmi Nuutila

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.nuutila@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Stockholm
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate | Helsinki
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Vivi Jaatinen

Vivi Jaatinen

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
vivi.jaatinen@hannessnellman.com
Salla Mäki

Salla Mäki

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
salla.maki@hannessnellman.com
Anni Pöllänen

Anni Pöllänen

Compliance Assistant | Helsinki
anni.pollanen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

The Kantar Group Limited (target), Bain Capital, LP (Buyer), WPP Plc (Seller)

Transaction

Bain Capital, LP. has agreed to acquire 60 per cent of the Kantar Group Limited, from WPP Plc in a restructuring transaction.

Deal Value

EUR 3551.77 million

Role

Counsel to WPP Plc

Richard Åkerman

Richard Åkerman

Partner | Stockholm
richard.akerman@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Josephine Lindgren

Josephine Lindgren

Senior Associate | Stockholm
josephine.lindgren@hannessnellman.com
Jenny Lundberg

Jenny Lundberg

Specialist Partner | Stockholm
jenny.lundberg@hannessnellman.com

Counsel to CEMEX in its sale of assets in the Baltics and Nordics to the German building materials group SCHWENK, 2019

Claes Kjellberg

Claes Kjellberg

Partner | Stockholm
claes.kjellberg@hannessnellman.com
Jonas Sjöberg

Jonas Sjöberg

Senior Associate | Stockholm
jonas.sjoberg@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Managing Associate | Helsinki
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Funds managed by Sentica Partners Oy (Buyer), Mikael Swanljung and his family (Sellers), Picnic Finland Oy, Europicnic Oy and La Torrefazione Oy (Targets)

Transaction

Sentica Partners’ acquisition of majority ownership in Picnic Company Group from Mikael Swanljung and his family

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Mikael Swanljung and his family

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com

Parties

KID ASA (Buyer), Hemtex Aktiebolag (Target), ICA Gruppen AB (Seller)

Transaction

Counsel to KID ASA in its Acquisition of 100% of the Shares in Hemtex AB from ICA Gruppen AB

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to KID ASA

Claes Kjellberg

Claes Kjellberg

Partner | Stockholm
claes.kjellberg@hannessnellman.com
Jenny Lundberg

Jenny Lundberg

Specialist Partner | Stockholm
jenny.lundberg@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Jessica Tressfeldt

Jessica Tressfeldt

Senior Associate | Stockholm
jessica.tressfeldt@hannessnellman.com
Douglas Essehorn

Douglas Essehorn

Senior Associate | Stockholm
douglas.essehorn@hannessnellman.com
Klaara Lähteenoja

Klaara Lähteenoja

Associate | Helsinki
klaara.lahteenoja@hannessnellman.com
Jonas Sjöberg

Jonas Sjöberg

Senior Associate | Stockholm
jonas.sjoberg@hannessnellman.com

Parties

AtoB@C Shipping AB (Target), Aspo Plc (Bidder) Anders Nilsson (Private Investor)(Seller)

Transaction

Aspo Plc has agreed to acquire AtoB@C Shipping AB from Anders Nilsson (Private investor).

Deal Value

EUR 30 million

Role

Counsel to Aspo Plc

Richard Åkerman

Richard Åkerman

Partner | Stockholm
richard.akerman@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Rannikko

Riikka Rannikko

Managing Partner | Helsinki
riikka.rannikko@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Josephine Lindgren

Josephine Lindgren

Senior Associate | Stockholm
josephine.lindgren@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Biovian Oy (Target), Keensight Capital (Bidder)

Transaction

Keensight Capital’s acquisition of a majority stake in Biovian, a leading European player in contract manufacturing and development of biopharmaceuticals

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Biovian Oy and founding shareholders

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Kaisa Himmanen

Kaisa Himmanen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
kaisa.himmanen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

CVC Capital Partners, LocalTapiola, Varma, Ilmarinen, Mehiläinen management (Buyers), Mehiläinen Oy (Target), Kohlberg Kravis Roberts & Co. L.P., Triton Partners (Sellers)

Transaction

LocalTapiola's co-investment with CVC Capital Partners, Varma and Ilmarinen to Mehiläinen Oy, a leading Finnish private health- and social care provider

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to LocalTapiola

Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Sara Soini

Sara Soini

Associate | Helsinki
sara.soini@hannessnellman.com
Roosa Väre

Roosa Väre

Senior Associate | Helsinki
roosa.vare@hannessnellman.com
Kaisa Himmanen

Kaisa Himmanen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
kaisa.himmanen@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association

Education and Professional Background

  • LL.M. in Energy and Environmental Law, The Chinese University of Hong Kong, 2020
  • Associate Lawyer, Hannes Snellman, 2017
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2017
  • Associate Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2016
  • Studies at The Chinese University of Hong Kong, 2016
  • Legal Trainee, Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland, 2015
  • Knowledge Management Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2014–2015