People

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki

Niclas advises domestic and international clients in the field of mergers and acquisitions, as well as general corporate, commercial, and contract law.

Niclas joined the firm as an associate trainee in 2021 and was appointed as an associate upon his graduation. He has also gained experience at other international business law firms.


References

Parties

KWC Group AG (Seller), KWC Nordics Oy (Target), Alumbra Group AB (Buyer)

Transaction

The sale by Equistone’s portfolio company KWC Group AG of its Finnish subsidiary KWC Nordics Oy, a premium manufacturer, seller and distributor of medical washers, disinfectors and bed pan washers, drying cabinets, sterilizers and large-scale washers for clinics and hospitals, to Alumbra Group AB.

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to KWC Group AG

Erik Stenman

Erik Stenman

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
erik.stenman@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Highland Europe, Wirepas Oy, Amalfi, IQT, ETF Partners, KPN Ventures, Vito Ventures

Transaction:

Counsel to lead investor, Highland Europe, in its investment in Wirepas Oy

Deal value:

Approx. EUR 20 million

Role:

Counsel to Highland Europe

Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

SULO Group, (Buyer), Molok Group Oy (Target)

Transaction:

Hannes Snellman counsel to SULO Group, a global waste management leader, in its acquisition of Molok Group Oy from Vaaka Partners.

Deal value: 

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to SULO Group

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Annika Schauman

Annika Schauman

Managing Associate | Helsinki
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com
Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com
Sami Niemi

Sami Niemi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
sami.niemi@hannessnellman.com
Isabella Kartila

Isabella Kartila

Senior Associate | Helsinki
isabella.kartila@hannessnellman.com
Anna-Emilia Vuorenmaa

Anna-Emilia Vuorenmaa

Associate | Helsinki
anna-emilia.vuorenmaa@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Infranode, MPY Telecom Oyj

Transaction:

Infranode’s acquisition of MPY Telecom Oyj

Role:

Counsel to Infranode

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Annika Schauman

Annika Schauman

Managing Associate | Helsinki
Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com
Santeri Jääskeläinen

Santeri Jääskeläinen

Associate | Helsinki
santeri.jaaskelainen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Hämäläinen

Anniina Hämäläinen

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
anniina.hamalainen@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Managing Associate | Helsinki
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Ville Säteri

Ville Säteri

Associate | Helsinki
ville.sateri@hannessnellman.com
Heidi Haanpää

Heidi Haanpää

Partner | Helsinki
heidi.haanpaa@hannessnellman.com
Riikka Kuha

Riikka Kuha

Senior Associate | Helsinki
riikka.kuha@hannessnellman.com
Lasse Riski

Lasse Riski

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
lasse.riski@hannessnellman.com
Anna Mäkinen

Anna Mäkinen

Associate | Helsinki
anna.makinen@hannessnellman.com
Julia Ranta

Julia Ranta

Associate | Helsinki
julia.ranta@hannessnellman.com
Alisa Ainonen

Alisa Ainonen

Associate | Helsinki
alisa.ainonen@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Laura Sainio

Laura Sainio

Associate | Helsinki
laura.sainio@hannessnellman.com

Parties

ScandiNova Systems AB (buyer) and International Electric Company Oy (target).

Transaction

Counsel to ScandiNova Systems AB in its acquisition of majority of shares in International Electric Company Oy, the provider of subsystems and precision instruments for the global health care, scientific and industrial markets.

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to ScandiNova Systems AB (buyer)

Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Roosa Väre

Roosa Väre

Senior Associate | Helsinki
roosa.vare@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com
Oona Eerola

Oona Eerola

Associate | Helsinki
oona.eerola@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Trill Impact, Raksystems

Transaction:

Counsel to Trill Impact in the acquisition of Raksystems

Deal value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Trill Impact

Erik Stenman

Erik Stenman

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
erik.stenman@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com
Roosa Väre

Roosa Väre

Senior Associate | Helsinki
roosa.vare@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Varjo Technologies Oy, several new and existing investors including Volvo Car Tech Fund, EQT Ventures, Atomico, Mirabaud and Foxconn​.

Transaction

Counsel to Volvo Car Tech Fund and certain other lead investors in Varjo Technologies Oy’s EUR 41 million funding round.

Deal Value

EUR 41 million

Role

Counsel to Volvo Car Tech Fund and certain other lead investors

Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties:

Duunitori Oy and its owners (seller), Intera Partners (buyer)

Transaction:

Counsel to Duunitori Oy and its owners in the sale of majority of Duunitori’s share capital to Intera Partners

Deal Value:

Value not public

Role:

Counsel to Duunitori Oy

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com
Axel Hård af Segerstad

Axel Hård af Segerstad

Associate | Helsinki
axel.hard@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Ilmari Mäkimattila

Ilmari Mäkimattila

Associate | Helsinki
ilmari.makimattila@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Managing Associate | Helsinki
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com

Parties

MEKO (buyer), Koivunen (target)

Transaction

Counsel to MEKO in its acquisition of Koivunen, the provider of automotive spare parts and related services.

Deal Value

EUR 122 Million

Role

Counsel to MEKO

Erik Stenman

Erik Stenman

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
erik.stenman@hannessnellman.com
Annika Schauman

Annika Schauman

Managing Associate | Helsinki
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com
Axel Hård af Segerstad

Axel Hård af Segerstad

Associate | Helsinki
axel.hard@hannessnellman.com
Anna Nyberg

Anna Nyberg

Senior Associate | Helsinki
anna.nyberg@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Huuva Oy, several new and existing investors including General Catalyst Group and Lifeline Ventures.

Transaction

Counsel to Huuva Oy, a Helsinki-based food delivery company, on its EUR 5 million financing round.

Deal Value

EUR 5 million

Role

Counsel to Huuva Oy

Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Blossom Capital (lead investor), Maki.vc, Brightly Ventures and other co-investors, Zevoy Aktiebolag (target).

Transaction

Counsel to the lead investor Blossom Capital in the EUR 15 million series A funding round of Zevoy Aktiebolag, a Finland-based expense management solutions provider.

Deal Value

EUR 15 million

Role

Counsel to Blossom Capital

Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Senior Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties 

IK Partners (Buyer), Intera Fund II Ky, Intera Fund III Ky, management and other minority shareholders (Sellers), Renta Group Oy (Target)

Transaction 

Intera Partners’ sale of Renta Group Oy to IK Partners

Deal Value 

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Intera Partners

Roosa Väre

Roosa Väre

Senior Associate | Helsinki
roosa.vare@hannessnellman.com
Niclas Ruotsalainen

Niclas Ruotsalainen

Associate | Helsinki
niclas.ruotsalainen@hannessnellman.com
Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Antti Nyberg (Alanko)

Partner | Helsinki
antti.nyberg@hannessnellman.com
Sami Niemi

Sami Niemi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
sami.niemi@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com
Risto Ojakoski

Risto Ojakoski

Associate | Helsinki
risto.ojakoski@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Wilhelm Sanmark

Wilhelm Sanmark

Associate | Helsinki
wilhelm.sanmark@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Claes Kjellberg

Claes Kjellberg

Partner | Stockholm
claes.kjellberg@hannessnellman.com
Douglas Essehorn

Douglas Essehorn

Senior Associate | Stockholm
douglas.essehorn@hannessnellman.com
Alexander Lindqvist

Alexander Lindqvist

Senior Associate | Stockholm
alexander.lindqvist@hannessnellman.com
Josephine Gjerstad Medina

Josephine Gjerstad Medina

Senior Associate | Stockholm
josephine.gjerstadmedina@hannessnellman.com
Olof Östman

Olof Östman

Associate | Stockholm
olof.ostman@hannessnellman.com
Amanda Alexandersson

Amanda Alexandersson

Associate | Stockholm
amanda.alexandersson@hannessnellman.com

Education and Professional Background

  • Associate Lawyer, Hannes Snellman, 2021–
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2021
  • Thesis Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2021
  • Associate Trainee, Hannes Snellman, 2021
  • Associate Trainee, Krogerus Attorneys Ltd, 2021
  • Associate Trainee, Roschier, Attorneys Ltd., 2020-2021
  • Legal Trainee, HPP Attorneys, 2019-2020