People

Meri-Katriina Pyhäranta

Counsel | Helsinki

Meri-Katriina Pyhäranta has extensive understanding of the energy market through several years of work experience in the energy field. She has actively participated in different energy working groups and in the future energy strategy and policy work that has been carried out at EU level. She advises Finnish and international companies on all aspects of energy regulation and has wide experience in cooperating and negotiating with different interest groups in the energy field, including producers, traders, system operators, investors, governmental institutions, and landowners. Prior to joining Hannes Snellman, Meri-Katriina worked at the Energy Authority, where she was responsible of monitoring market behaviour in the Finnish natural gas market from the regulatory point of view and contributed to developing and decarbonising the energy market both nationally and at EU level.

Meri-Katriina holds a PhD in energy law from the University of Eastern Finland. She has been a visiting scholar at top US universities in the field of energy law and policy and has published articles in the field of energy law in internationally recognised academic journals.


References

Parties:

Gasgrid Finland Oy, Excelerate Energy

Transaction:

Gasgrid Finland Oy's chartering of an LNG Floating Storage and Regasification Unit from Excelerate Energy.

Deal Value:

EUR 460 million

Role:

Counsel to Gasgrid Finland Oy

Rabbe Sittnikow

Rabbe Sittnikow

Partner | Helsinki
rabbe.sittnikow@hannessnellman.com
Janna Pihanurmi

Janna Pihanurmi

Associate | Helsinki
janna.pihanurmi@hannessnellman.com
Meri-Katriina Pyhäranta

Meri-Katriina Pyhäranta

Counsel | Helsinki
meri-katriina.pyharanta@hannessnellman.com
Santeri Jääskeläinen

Santeri Jääskeläinen

Associate | Helsinki
santeri.jaaskelainen@hannessnellma.com
Heikki Majamaa

Heikki Majamaa

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
heikki.majamaa@hannessnellman.com
Mikko Huimala

Mikko Huimala

Partner | Helsinki
mikko.huimala@hannessnellman.com
Päivi Tammilehto

Päivi Tammilehto

Counsel | Helsinki
paivi.tammilehto@hannessnellman.com
Outi Jousi

Outi Jousi

Counsel | Helsinki
outi.jousi@hannessnellman.com
Annika Juhola

Annika Juhola

Associate | Helsinki
annika.juhola@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Metsä-Simola

Klaus Metsä-Simola

Partner | Helsinki
klaus.metsa-simola@hannessnellman.com
Jesper Nevalainen

Jesper Nevalainen

Partner | Helsinki
jesper.nevalainen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Hämäläinen

Anniina Hämäläinen

Legal Assistant | Helsinki
anniina.hamalainen@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Anna Nyberg

Anna Nyberg

Associate | Helsinki
anna.nyberg@hannessnellman.com

Rankings

  • ASLA-Fulbright Scholarship, 2016–2017

Publications

  • State ownership of petroleum resources: an obstacle to shale gas development in the UK?
    Journal of World Energy Law and Business, June 2017
  • Reforms in UK shale gas regulation: better prospects for investors? 25 (2) European Energy and Environmental Law Review, 2016
  • EU:n energiatehokkuussääntely – Viimeaikaisia kehityslinjoja ja täytäntöönpano Suomessa, Defensor Legis 2/2016

Education and Professional Background

  • Counsel, Hannes Snellman, 2021–
  • Doctor of Laws, University of Eastern Finland, 2020
  • Energy Authority, 2017–2020
  • University of Eastern Finland, 2014–2017
  • LL.M. in European and International Energy Law and Policy, University of Eastern Finland, 2013
  • Krogerus Attorneys, 2013–2014
  • Ernst & Young, 2011–2012
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2011