People

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki

Laura advises clients on all types of financing transactions with a particular focus on bank lending, acquisition financing, and real estate and project financing, as well as on questions relating to general corporate, contract, and commercial law. Laura has also been involved in restructuring assignments and the preparation of security enforcement procedures.

Prior to joining Hannes Snellman, Laura worked for another law firm in Helsinki for eight years. Furthermore, Laura gained substantial experience of development finance during her two-year secondment at Finnfund (the Finnish Fund for Industrial Cooperation Ltd).


References

Parties

Nordea Bank Abp, Areim

Transaction

Counsel to Nordea Bank Abp in financing the acquisition of a residential portfolio of 900 rental apartments from Ilmarinen by Areim

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to Nordea Bank Abp

Antti Alanko

Antti Alanko

Partner | Helsinki
antti.alanko@hannessnellman.com
Laura Kotilainen

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki
laura.kotilainen@hannessnellman.com
Mari Miettinen

Mari Miettinen

Associate | Helsinki
mari.miettinen@hannessnellman.com
Valerie Wårvik

Valerie Wårvik

Associate | Helsinki
valerie.warvik@hannessnellman.com
Albert Danielsson

Albert Danielsson

Senior Associate | Stockholm
albert.danielsson@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Initial purchasers and creditors, CABB Chemicals

Transaction

Finnish counsel to the initial purchasers and creditors in the refinancing of CABB Chemicals with EUR 490 million senior secured and EUR 150 million unsecured notes offering and super senior revolving credit facility

Deal Value

EUR 640 million

Role

Finnish counsel to the initial purchasers and creditors

Henrik Mattson

Henrik Mattson

Partner | Helsinki
henrik.mattson@hannessnellman.com
Laura Kotilainen

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki
laura.kotilainen@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Associate | Helsinki
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com
Pauliina Sutinen

Pauliina Sutinen

Associate | Helsinki
pauliina.sutinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Outotec Oyj, Metso Corporation

Transaction

The combination of Outotec and Metso Minerals through a demerger

Deal Value

EUR 3.9 billion (illustrative combined sales)

Role

Counsel to Outotec Oyj

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Outi Raitasuo

Outi Raitasuo

Partner | Helsinki
outi.raitasuo@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Peter Forsberg

Peter Forsberg

Partner | Stockholm
peter.forsberg@hannessnellman.com
Anna-Maria Tamminen

Anna-Maria Tamminen

Partner | Helsinki
anna-maria.tamminen@hannessnellman.com
Heikki Vesikansa

Heikki Vesikansa

Partner | Helsinki
heikki.vesikansa@hannessnellman.com
Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Johanna Haltia-Tapio

Specialist Partner | Helsinki
johanna.haltia-tapio@hannessnellman.com
Laura Kotilainen

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki
laura.kotilainen@hannessnellman.com
Elina Toivakainen

Elina Toivakainen

Counsel | Helsinki
elina.toivakainen@hannessnellman.com
Jenni Parviainen

Jenni Parviainen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
jenni.parviainen@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com
Samuli Pirinen

Samuli Pirinen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
samuli.pirinen@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Taina Metso

Taina Metso

Associate | Helsinki
taina.metso@hannessnellman.com
Anna Sahrakorpi

Anna Sahrakorpi

Associate | Helsinki
anna.sahrakorpi@hannessnellman.com
Anton Karlais

Anton Karlais

Associate | Helsinki
anton.karlais@hannessnellman.com
Henrik Hautamäki

Henrik Hautamäki

Senior Associate | Helsinki
henrik.hautamaki@hannessnellman.com
Ina Rautiainen

Ina Rautiainen

Associate | Helsinki
ina.rautiainen@hannessnellman.com
Stefan Stellato

Stefan Stellato

Associate | Helsinki
stefan.stellato@hannessnellman.com
Johan Holmquist

Johan Holmquist

Senior Associate | Stockholm
johan.holmquist@hannessnellman.com
Maria Landtman

Maria Landtman

Partner | Helsinki
maria.landtman@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Glaston Corporation

Transaction

Rights issue in Glaston Corporation

Deal Value

EUR 34 million

Role

Counsel to Glaston Corporation

Klaus Ilmonen

Klaus Ilmonen

Partner, Doctor of Laws | Helsinki
klaus.ilmonen@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Annemari Rosi

Annemari Rosi

Senior Associate | Helsinki
annemari.rosi@hannessnellman.com
Aaron Fagerholm

Aaron Fagerholm

Associate | Helsinki
aaron.fagerholm@hannessnellman.com
Anna Sahrakorpi

Anna Sahrakorpi

Associate | Helsinki
anna.sahrakorpi@hannessnellman.com
Ida Viitamäki

Ida Viitamäki

Associate | Helsinki
ida.viitamaki@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Laura Kotilainen

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki
laura.kotilainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Nordic real estate investment company NREP

Transaction

Counsel to Nordic real estate investment company NREP in financing the acquisition of the Arabia shopping centre in Helsinki and the Duo shopping centre in Tampere, 2019

Deal Value

Approx. EUR 77 million

Role

Counsel to NREP

Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Laura Kotilainen

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki
laura.kotilainen@hannessnellman.com
Valerie Wårvik

Valerie Wårvik

Associate | Helsinki
valerie.warvik@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Nordea Bank Abp

Transaction

Counsel to Nordea Bank Abp in EUR 74,000,000 refinancing of Global Net Lease, Inc.’s portfolio of five commercial real estate properties located in Southern Finland

Deal Value

EUR 74,000,000

Role

Counsel to Nordea Bank Abp

Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Laura Kotilainen

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki
laura.kotilainen@hannessnellman.com
Antti Antikainen

Antti Antikainen

Senior Associate | Helsinki
antti.antikainen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Glaston Corporation (Buyer), Conzzeta AG (Seller), Bystronic Maschinen AG, Bystronic Lenhardt GmbH and their subsidiaries (Targets)

Transaction

Glaston Corporation’s acquisition of Bystronic Glass and refinancing of Glaston

Deal Value

EUR 68 million

Role

Counsel to Glaston Corporation

Mikko Heinonen

Mikko Heinonen

Senior Partner | Helsinki
mikko.heinonen@hannessnellman.com
Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Anniina Järvinen

Anniina Järvinen

Managing Associate | Helsinki
anniina.jarvinen@hannessnellman.com
Emmi Kantola

Emmi Kantola

Associate | Helsinki
emmi.kantola@hannessnellman.com
Janne Veneranta

Janne Veneranta

Senior Associate | Helsinki
janne.veneranta@hannessnellman.com
Laura Kotilainen

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki
laura.kotilainen@hannessnellman.com
Sanna Heino

Sanna Heino

Associate | Helsinki
sanna.heino@hannessnellman.com

Parties

Nordic real estate investment company NREP

Transaction

NREP's financing the acquisition of a logistics property located in Southern Finland and development of residential and serviced living properties located in the Helsinki metropolitan area

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to NREP Oy

Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Laura Kotilainen

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki
laura.kotilainen@hannessnellman.com
Mari Miettinen

Mari Miettinen

Associate | Helsinki
mari.miettinen@hannessnellman.com

Parties

OP Corporate Bank plc, HYY Group, Sponda

Transaction

Counsel to OP Corporate Bank plc in financing the acquisition of Seurahuone property by HYY Group from Sponda

Deal Value

Value not public

Role

Counsel to OP Corporate Bank plc

Markus Bremer

Markus Bremer

Partner | Helsinki
markus.bremer@hannessnellman.com
Laura Kotilainen

Laura Kotilainen

Counsel | Helsinki
laura.kotilainen@hannessnellman.com
Matias Moberg

Matias Moberg

Associate | Helsinki
matias.moberg@hannessnellman.com

Memberships and Positions of Trust

  • Member of the Finnish Bar Association

Education and Professional Background

  • Counsel, Hannes Snellman, 2020
  • Senior Associate, Hannes Snellman, 2018–2020
  • Senior Associate, Castrén & Snellman, 2014–2018
  • Legal Counsel (on secondment), Finnfund (the Finnish Fund for Industrial Cooperation Ltd), 2014–2016
  • Associate, Castrén & Snellman, 2010–2014
  • Master of Laws, University of Helsinki, 2010
  • Studies in EU law, Stockholm University, 2007
  • Studies in Finance, Helsinki School of Economics, 2007–2008